Entry #2: Steven Ruse

Jewelry is something eternal in a wardrobe. It doesn’t get ripped or torn, rarely does it get worn out. If it gets too big or too small, it is easily adjusted at a jewelry store. Among handbags and shoes, jewelry is something to splurge on during one’s life. If you think about it, you get the most for what you spend.

Rings have always been one of my fascinations; I’ve always have had the best of luck with them. I have tiny wrists so watches and bracelets always need to be resized, and let’s be honest, how often do I get around to taking them to a jewelers to get fix? Rarely to never. But rings are ideal for me because I have small, skinny fingers and usually the tiny sizes are what is left at stores.

Recently, I got an internship at a local art gallery in Pleasanton, California. During my orientation, I noticed this display on the counter of rings. Instantly, I was drawn to them. Yet these rings were nothing like I had ever seen before.

Jan, the Gallery Director, explained to me that they are designed and made by a local man named Steven Ruse. Ruse was an ex-professional scuba-driver and had a great interest in pearls and underwater life. He started collecting pearls and such on his expeditions. Like the artist as he is, he decided to one day make a ring for his wife. And from there, his passion for jewelry erupted.

Ruse began gathering pearls and other semi-precious stones and binding them together with pure silver. Walrus tusks and ivory became another interest of his and incorporated them into his ring designs. Normally, Ruse carves the ivory into beautiful portraits of Indians and other earthly figures as well as roses, turtles and nature.

It is such a shame that I have to describe his work using words instead of actually letting you wear one of his pieces. The experience is so unique and beautiful. Even though he puts so many different stones, pearls and ivory together, the rings feel light. There is no weight on your hand while you are wearing them nor do you feel like you are going to snag the ring on your clothing. Even the silver itself feels almost soft and so delicate and smooth on your skin. The most striking thing, however, is the design of the rings. The design of the rings are all different, no two look alike. Clearly, much thought goes into pairing the stones together and the coiling on the metal. Yet, Ruse makes the rings look so effortless, almost natural in a way. It sometimes seems like you could just find one of the rings laying in a bed of rocks or in the sand by the sea. Even so, the rings posses so much character that even celebrities like Lady Gaga and Nicki Minaj and Ke$ha could be photographed wearing them.

I was so excited to write a post about these rings because they struck me in such an artistically violent way. I was only let down by the fact that on his website, the images of his works are scarce and do not accurately describe the beauty of his works. Until he finishes the update of his website, these pictures will have to suffice. But please do take a look at his website because his rings are gorgeous and his ivory carvings are incredible.

[Reposted from my other blog, Alexander’s Eyes]

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment